Manitoba.—The formation of the Manitoba Power Commission was authorized by the passage of the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1919 (c. 30, also c. 61 Consolidated Amendments, 1924) which authorizes the Commission to make provision for generating electrical energy, to enter into contracts for the purchase of power in bulk from generating agencies, and for its transmission and sale to municipalities, corporations and individuals. In 1929 legislation was passed whereby the Government undertook to pay interest charges and sinking fund charges on an amount not exceeding 50 p.c. of the capital cost of the construction and erection of equipment required for the generation and transmission of electrical power or energy to municipalities, farms and other customers.

The Commission has built and is now operating an extensive transmission system under authority of the above Act, supplying electrical power to its many thousands of customers throughout Manitoba. This power is now purchased under the Seven Sisters Power Contract from the Northwestern Power Company and transmitted over high tension steel-tower lines to Portage la Prairie, Brandon and Morden. From this main system power is transmitted to the territory south of the Winnipeg-Brandon main line to the International Boundary.

A branch system serving the territory along the western boundary of the province, and which includes the towns and villages of Reston, Pipestone, Melita, Napinka, Elkhorn, Miniota, Crandall and Arrow River, has been constructed and is operated by the Commission. This system which, until August 1931, was supplied with power generated by the Commission's plant at Virden is now tied into the main system and supplied with power generated at Seven Sisters.

In accordance with the authority granted under the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1919, the Commission has made purchases of municipally owned plants—notably at Birtle and Brandon—or entered into contracts for the supply of power by municipally owned plants—as at Dauphin—or by the Winnipeg Electric Company, whereby power is supplied to outlying districts. This phase of the Commission's activities has shown a steady growth and during 1931 extensions were made to several additional places.

It is the intention of the Commission to supply all outlying power areas from the main system just as soon as their loads are sufficient to justify the cost of building extensions.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S. 1930, c. 30) which authorizes the Commission to manufacture, sell and supply electrical energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy. The Commission is also given certain control and regulatory powers in connection with the operation of electric public utilities in the province, and is charged with the responsibility for the administration of The Electrical Licensing Act (R.S.S. 1930, c. 214).

The initial operations of the Commission were concerned with acquiring by purchase municipally owned plants which were improved, enlarged or supplemented by installations made by the Commission and were operated as individual systems of supply. Examples of such acquisitions made in 1929 were the Saskatoon, Humboldt, and Rosthern plants. In addition the plant at Shellbrook, the Wynyard-Elfros-Wadena and the Leader-Prelate-Sceptre systems, served from plants at Wynyard and Leader, were established by the Commission in the same year. In